The San Diego Comic Con Scavenger Hunt

Posted: July 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

Hey Friends,

Every year for the past five years I’ve gone to SDCC, and every year I leave feeling like I haven’t seen enough. While everyone who’s been to Comic Con will tell you that it’s an outrageous, entertaining experience, they’ll likely follow that up with “and I had to get the hell out of there as quickly as possible.”

The reaction is a natural byproduct of the convention atmosphere: too many people, too much heat, and too many booths and vendors vying for our attention. It’s a 24/7 assault on the senses, and it gets a bit overwhelming – especially when a good third of the attendees have been in the same cosplay for three days straight in 90 degree weather. Do you know what a wookie costume smells like after three days in San Diego? I do. And I still shudder at the memory.

In order to encourage myself to explore as much of the convention as possible, I decided it would be fun to try a scavenger hunt. The idea is simple: you give me stuff to look for, and I’ll find it at the convention and post photographic evidence to my blog when I get back. This doesn’t have to be something in the convention hall itself. It can be anything comiccon-related:

  • Cosplay
  • VO actors
  • Video game professionals
  • Celebrities (not Chevy Chase – long story)
  • Swag/Memorabilia
  • Panels

…or anything I haven’t thought of that won’t get me thrown in jail. If I get enough suggestions, I’ll post the list to my blog and do my best to get as many of them as possible. And if you happen to be going to the Con, please feel free to join in!

Add your ideas in the comment section here, and share with whoever you like!

Thanks,
TJ

Comments
  1. rurple says:

    Anyone from Fairy Tail!

  2. Ryan says:

    Take a picture with the best looking Xbox PR guy out there (note, not Blain.)

    • tjfixman says:

      I suppose that means I’ll need to be at some XBox events. Blain said he can add me to the lists because “he has more power than anyone” or something, but I wonder…

  3. Zen says:

    That sounds awesome!

  4. Nectern says:

    I’m not fortunate enough to go to comic con (yet?) but below is a list of people/characters I’d keep my eye out for.

    Find Vegeta from DragonBall Z. Anime cosplays are notoriously difficult to pull off and a real-life Vegeta would look goofy as hell I imagine.

    Find Steve Bluhm because he makes Nolan North and Troy Baker look lazy.

    Find Kevin Conroy, because Batman.

    Find Ken Levine and ask him about your Sea Monkeys.

    Find Matt Groening and ask him to help you revive your animated series thingy.

    Umm… if Sunset Overdrive is gonna be there you have to go see the Insomniacs.

    Seeing a Ratchet or Clank would be awesome.

    Seeing a Jak or Daxter would be awesome.

    Seeing a Crash/Spyro would be awesome.

    Go hunt down as many from the cast of Community as you can.

    Go find Justin Roiland/Dan Harmon and ask them about Rick and Morty. Also if you haven’t watched Rick and Morty, watch Rick and Morty. No seriously, right now.

    Peter Cullen (voice of Optimus mahfuckin Prime) is definitely worth running into.

    Frank Welker, because he’s like Mel Blanc if Mel Blanc only played villains.

    John DiMaggio! He played The Scotsman in Samurai Jack! also Joker, Marcus Fenix, Jake the dog and other not as memorable things.

    Phil Lamarr! He played Samurai Jack! and was on MADtv or something.

    Genndy Tartakovsky! He created Samurai Jack! and Dexter’s Laboratory! ask him about his new Popeye movie and how soon before we see the Samurai Jack movie!

    I think there’s going to be a Sherlock panel. Would be worth going to.

    Tara Strong, because the internet had determined she has a nice badonkadonk. (Google Tara Strong Badonkadonk for more)

    Kevin Michael Richardson. He played Drek.

    Look out for Watchmen cosplays, which more than likely 90% boil down to poorly made Rorschach masks.

    I could probably keep this going but I’m going to spare you.

    Off the top of my head, that’s who I’d be looking for. I know I left out alot of awesome people that I’ll kick myself for later, but most importantly have fun and stay hydrated.

Leave a Reply

