Welcome!

Posted: May 20, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I have to confess, I am a bit of a hypocrite. For years I swore I would never start a blog – not because I have any problem with the medium, but because of the sheer time commitment. Working writers are always struggling to make deadlines and develop original ideas. We live in (or perhaps only I live in) perpetual fear that one day we’ll find the idea well dry and begin a mad spiral into Washout Land, where socks are worn with sandals and writers sit around a Starbuck’s coffee table comparing their lives to the Hero’s Journey. So blogs always seemed like a distraction, and I swore them off much the same way I did anything with the word “Kardashian” in the title.

But over the past year, I’ve found that I may have been a bit hasty. Every week through Twitter, I get questions about what I do. It’s a flattering reminder that writing video games, comics, and features is a privilege, and it’s one I take seriously. As a kid growing up in New Jersey, I didn’t have any way of learning from working writers. Most of them lived in, well, not New Jersey. And the Internet was so new they were still ripping off the shiny cellophane around it. So I decided that if I ever did become a working writer, I would do what I could to encourage other hopefuls. Or at least give them an honest look at our profession so they could decide whether to continue, or run off screaming into the wilderness.

This takes me back to Twitter. I try to answer as much as I can, but though I agree that brevity is the soul of wit, 140 characters is just pushing it. I wanted a place where I could talk about all things story. I wanted a place where I could answer questions, or talk about what I’ve got in the works. I wanted a place where I could communicate with the same people who make my job possible.

Often times I won’t be able to go into specifics – Insomniac and DC have been far too good to me for me to betray their trust (plus, Ted Price is a skilled fighter). But I promise to share what I can, answer questions whenever possible, and keep my ranting to a minimum. Maybe.

Welcome to my blog. Apologies in advance for the madness.

Best,
T.J. Fixman
Professional Make-Stuff-Upper

Comments
  1. Jeremy says:

    Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Candy says:

    Thanks for this! I imagine it will be really helpful and it’s very generous of you to devote some of your precious time to this. It will undoubtedly be greatly appreciated. I appreciate it already.🙂

  3. Jackson says:

    Your posts are incredibly insightful. I’ve always found it hard to find resources on videogame writing in no small part because most people seem to have a distorted idea of it. I can’t wait to read future posts, and learn more about the shadowy, secretive world of game writing!

Leave a Reply

